Employment Opportunities

Meeting Schedule

Search and Pay Your Bill

Print Tax Receipt

Comments or Concerns

Boards & Committees

Authentically Alleghany
County visitors and
tourists click here.



Board of Commissioners

Oversight and direction of Alleghany County government is provided by a five-member Board of Commissioners. The Alleghany County Board Of Commissioners, a policy-making body deriving its authority pursuant to the N.C. General Statutes, levies taxes, develops a budget and directs the fiscal policy of the county under the provisions of the local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act.

The Commissioners appoint the County Manager, County Attorney, a Clerk to the Board, and make numerous appointments to county and public corporation boards, commissions, and committees. The Commissioners also confirm the appointment of a tax supervisor/collector.

The Commissioners have the power to adopt ordinances, as well as to serve as the Board of Equalization and Review in hearing property tax assessment appeals. The five Board members are elected county-wide on a partisan basis for four-year staggered terms.

The Board meets two times a month, the first Monday at 6:00pm and the third Monday at 10:00am, in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the County Administration Building. It also meets in joint session with the Sparta Town Council at 7 pm on the fifth Monday of the month. Joint meetings alternate between the Commissioners Meeting Room of the County Administration Building and Sparta Town Hall. Typically, no joint meeting is held when the fifth Monday falls in December or on a holiday.

The chairman is annually selected by the other Commissioners on the first Monday in December. The Board of Commissioners has the authority to set up committees and appoint board members to those committees, as well as to appoint liaisons between the Board and other boards and commissions.

Individuals with questions about state and federal government functions are encouraged to explore the links at the upper right to the US House and Senate, NC Legislature and NC Home Page.

Bill Osborne, Chair
7280 NC 93
Piney Creek, NC 28663

Bobby Irwin, Vice Chair
307 Irwin Valley Road
Sparta, NC 28675

Mark Evans
2297 Rich Hill Road
Glade Valley, NC 28627

John Irwin
Retired Military & Telecommunications
297 Buckeye Ridge Run
Sparta, NC 28675

Mechelle Luffman
HR Manager
1131 Pine Swamp Rd Sparta, NC 28675


County Administration Building
348 South Main Street
Room LL20
PO Box 366
Sparta, NC 28675
Phone: 336-372-4179
Email: drew.todd@alleghanycounty-nc.gov