The Alleghany County Board of Commissioners reconvened the recessed meeting from Monday, February 21, 2005, on Friday, February 25, 2005, at 8:30am in the Conference Room of the County Office Building, 90 South Main Street, Sparta, NC.


Present:  Chair Eldon Edwards, Vice-Chair Warren Taylor, Commissioner Graylen Blevins, Commissioner Sandy Carter Herndon, Commissioner Ken Richardson, County Manager Don Adams and Clerk to the Board Karen Evans.  County Attorney Ed Woltz was absent.


Chair Eldon Edwards called the meeting to order at 8:30am.


Commissioner Ken Richardson made a motion to enter into closed session under NCGS 143-318.11 (a) (6)—personnel.  Commissioner Sandy Carter Herndon seconded the motion.  Vote 5:0.


Commissioner Sandy Carter Herndon made a motion to adjourn closed session and reconvene the regular meeting at 8:35am.  Commissioner Warren Taylor seconded the motion.  Vote 5:0. 


Chair Eldon Edwards stated that no action was taken during closed session.


Commissioner Ken Richardson made a motion to hire Donna Shumate Walker as the County Attorney.  Commissioner Graylen Blevins seconded the motion.  Vote 5:0.


County Manager Don Adams asked if this action will be effective March 1, 2005, and $15,000 annually paid out on a monthly basis.


Commissioner Ken Richardson amended his motion to include the effective date of March 1, 2005.


The Board of Commissioners agreed.


County Manager Don Adams reminded the Board that Donna Shumate will attend the Commissioners’ meetings with the exception of Superior Court weeks.


The Board of Commissioners and County Manager Don Adams talked about the benefits of having the County Attorney present at the Board meetings.


Commissioner Ken Richardson updated Chair Eldon Edwards and Commissioner Warren Taylor about the Essentials of County Government workshop that he attended last week.


Chair Eldon Edwards stated his appreciation to the three Commissioners that were present at Monday’s meeting.


Being no further business, Commissioner Ken Richardson made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:45am.  Commissioner Warren Taylor seconded the motion.   Vote 5:0. 


Respectfully Submitted,



Karen Evans

Clerk to the Board





Eldon Edwards