Veterans Advisory Committee

Mission Statement & Goals

Alleghany County Veterans Advisory Committee

Date: 3/16/2018

PURPOSE; By action of the Alleghany County Commissioners, taken October 3rd 2016, the Committee was granted permission to form a 501 – c – 3 Corporation, advise and assist Alleghany County with building, erection, maintenance of Veterans Memorial Park and other activities that may arise for Veterans and citizens of Alleghany County.

MEMBERSHIP; The Committee is made up of seven members with one representative member from each of the following organizations; VFW, Marine Corps League, American Legion, Disabled American Veterans, an at – large Veteran, and two Alleghany County Commissioners. Members will serve four year terms. The initial members will serve staggered terms of two and four years so as to maintain a rotational renewing membership. Two year terms will convert to four year terms after the first term. If a member fails to complete his or her term the Committee will request that member’s organization appoint another representative to fulfill the vacated seats term. All members must have appointment approval from their prospective organization to occupy a Committee seat. The Alleghany County Manager is invited to participate as an ex-officio non-voting member of the Committee.

Current Members

County Commissioners – Bobby Irwin
County Commissioners – Mark Evans
VFW – Randy Miles
Marine Corp League – Robert Overbay (Chairman)
American Legion – Tony League (Vice Chairman)
Disabled American Veterans – Dennis Crouse
At-large – Wendy Reece

Marge Gray
Veterans Service Officer
County Office Building
348 South Main Street

PO Box 366
Sparta, NC 28675
Phone: 336-372-4850
Fax: 336-372-4689
Department Links:
Veterans Advisory Committee
Veterans Memorial Park

External Links:
NC Veteran Affairs
Veterans Park Sidewalk Fund