The Alleghany County Board of Elections is an important element of county government. The principal function of the elections office is to conduct fair, impartial and efficient elections in compliance with state law. The Board of Elections also establishes election precincts and voting sites, appoints and trains precinct officials, assists persons desiring to file for office, prepares and distributes ballots, programs voting equipment, canvasses and certifies the results of an election. The office also investigates any voting irregularities, and maintains voter registration and participation records.

The office is also responsible for providing all publicly requested statistical and reporting information records for current and past elections.

We strive to make the voting process as easy and enjoyable as possible within the limits of the law by educating ourselves and the precinct officials with up to date information from the state.

We work under the supervision of the Board members, who currently are Betty Richardson, Chair, George Sheets, Secretary, Mac Murphy, Member, Larry Cox, Member and David “Casey” Jones, Member.

For more information please contact the office at 336-372-4557, visit our website, or our Facebook page.

Office hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. unless otherwise posted.

Sherry Dawson
Certified Elections Director

Ann Choate
Deputy Certified Elections Director
348 South Main Street
PO Box 65
Sparta, NC 28675
Phone: 336-372-4557
Fax: 336-372-5435
Email: elections@alleghanycounty-nc.gov
Department Links:
NC Board of Elections
Unofficial Results